Alan Walker Prize

Page edited on: 6th March 2008

British Society of Gerentology logo

Last year in Sheffield, the British Society of Gerontology established the Alan Walker Prize in recognition of the massive contribution Alan has made to British and international Social Gerontology. It is our intention and with his support and encouragement, to make this an annual competitive award from nominations made by the members of the British Society of Gerontology (henceforth the Society). We shall establish a small judging committee for the purpose of making the award. This will be Chaired by Alan Walker and comprise the President, Past-President and President-Elect of the Society; Tom Owen (Help the Aged); Andrew Harrop (Age Concern, England); Jim Soulsby (formerly Older and Bolder, NIACE) and Tony Maltby (BSG) who will act as Secretary to the committee.

It is intended that the award be made to an individual or organisation that, in the opinion of the judges, has made a significant and lasting contribution to British Social Gerontology. This might be through for example, campaigning, teaching, lobbying, service provision, fundraising, journalism and research. In particular, the award should be made to an individual or organisation that has made a significant impact on the policy process and helped improve the quality of life of older people. Nominees do not have to be current members of the Society but will be encouraged to join. In the unlikely event that the committee agree that none of the nominees meet the criteria of the award then they can make an award outside of the nominations received. The judges’ decision will be final and they will not enter into any communication about that decision.

Applications forms can be downloaded here. Completed forms must be with the secretary to the awards committee Dr Tony Maltby no later than 12:00 (noon) on 16th June 2008. Any received after this time will be deemed invalid.

Get our newsletter

I agree to the Terms and Conditions
Find out more about our newsletter